Grand Portage National Monument & Grand Portage National Monument Heritage Center
Discover the fur trade era and the rich heritage of the Ojibwe people at the Grand Portage National Monument, a restored North West Company Depot.
Kitchi Onigaming, "the Great Carrying Place" or Grand Portage, became the main entry point of European trade with Native peoples, connecting the headquarters and western supply depot of the fur trade on Lake Superior to smaller posts located on the Pigeon River. From there the posts linked to North American exploration, trade and commerce. To efficiently move cargo, successful traders adopted Native tools, implements and traveling methods: birch bark canoes, snowshoes, toboggans and sled dogs.
At the Monument, the stockade wall, great hall and kitchen complex have been reconstructed over the original archaeological footprint from the late 18th century. A canoe warehouse features vessels crafted from birch, cedar and spruce raw materials, which were so essential for travel along the east-west fur trade routes. Volunteers and park staff in period attire explain and interpret what life was like at the turn of the 19th century.
Designated a National Monument in 1958 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1966, the Monument’s 710 acres lie entirely within the boundaries of Grand Portage Ojibwe Indian Reservation.
Grand Portage National Monument also has two hiking trails: The Mount Rose trail and the Grand Portage trail. For more information on these and other hiking trails in the area visit our Hiking Trails page.
The Grand Portage National Monument’s Heritage Center is open year round and features exhibit galleries, a gift shop and visitor information. For more information call 218-475-0123 or visit online at www.nps.gov/grpo or www.nps.gov/grpo/pphtml/kids.html.